Director Election


April 17, 2020

(Ramsey, MN) — Due to the Governor’s Stay at Home Order, attendance at the April 16 annual meeting was limited to the Connexus Energy Board and director candidates. Announcing the director election results was the sole agenda item at this unique meeting.

Election Results

Incumbents Michael Cady, Don Holl, and Shelly Peterson were re-elected to the Connexus Energy Board. More than 10,400 members, or 8.42% of the membership, cast their votes. That’s the highest percentage ever for the cooperative and above the national average. Here is the breakdown of the voting:

District 1

John Barksdale – 3,460 (33.4%)
Michael Cady – 5,251 (50.8%)
Sam Villella – 1,635 (15.8%)

District 2

Don Holl – 5,266 (51.0%)
Gregory Weber – 1,021 (9.9%)
Tami Wendt – 4,038 (39.1%)

District 3

Shelly Peterson – 7,929 (76.9%)
Marsha Van Denburgh – 2,387 (23.1%)

In the Board Organizational Meeting, Fran Bator was re-elected as Chair, Mark Ethen as Vice Chair, Gordy Westerlind as Secretary/Treasurer, and Peter Wojciechowski as Assistant Secretary/Treasurer.

2019 reports available

The 2019 Auditor’s Report, Business Review, and Community Report are available online at Printed copies of the Business Review and Community Report will also be mailed to members in May and June. In addition, videos of the CEO’s and the CFO’s 2019 performance reports can be viewed on Connexus Energy’s website and YouTube channel.

Connexus Energy is the largest member-owned utility in Minnesota providing electricity and related products and services to approximately 138,000 homes and businesses in portions of Anoka, Chisago, Hennepin, Isanti, Ramsey, Sherburne, and Washington counties. Additional information about Connexus Energy is available online at